Our Curriculum

We follow the National Curriculum enhanced by Cornerstones Creative Curriculum.

Reception children follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum.
This curriculum is divided into 7 areas of learning which are Personal, Social and Emotional Development, Communication and Language, Physical Development, Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding the World and Art and Design.

Each area of the Foundation Stage curriculum has equal weighting and children are given opportunities to develop skills and knowledge in all of these areas through a wide range of activities and play.

Through careful observation and assessment, staff are able to move children on in their learning and to also encourage them to participate in identifying the next steps for their learning.

Learning opportunities are developed:

  • Through play which is structured at times to enable new skills to develop.
  • Through children’s’ interests noted by staff and suggestions from parents.
  • Through allowing children to make their own decisions and choices.
  • Through providing a range of stimulating resources that children are encouraged to explore freely and through direction from staff.
  • Through incorporating drama and role-play into sessions.
  • Through enquiry.
  • Through catering for different learning styles and needs.
  • Through offering very high quality pastoral care so that children feel confident, valued and secure.

Please see below for our curriculum maps showing the learning for Reception:

Autumn 1

Further information is provided to parents at our information evenings and through Tapestry.

Years 1 to 6

The National Curriculum is the basis for our school curriculum and we have introduced knowledge organisers to ensure all children are engaged in learning. They also include information about the relevant topic that you can help your child to learn. Please see below for our knowledge organisers for each year group:

Autumn term 1 – Year 1Year 2Year 3Year 4Year 5Year 6

Autumn term 2 – Year 2

Maths and English are mostly taught as discrete lessons.  Please see below for our years overview of these subjects:

Maths –

English –

Phonics is taught using the letters and sounds programme. Letters and Sounds is a phonics resource published by the Department for Education and Skills. It aims to build children’s speaking and listening skills in their own right as well as to prepare children for learning to read by developing their phonic knowledge and skills. It sets out a detailed and systematic programme for teaching phonic skills for children starting by the age of five, with the aim of them becoming fluent readers by age seven.

Further information is provided at our parents evenings, learning workshops and through the class blogs.